Lets face it, SR22 Insurance in Indiana can be very expensive. That’s why you need to do all you can to find the cheapest policy for you. Our quick online form can help you save a lot of time, effort and money. How? By making top rated insurance companies compete for your business and giving you the power to choose.
Get your cheap sr22 insurance in Indiana now – click above and place your zip -code.
If you are considered a high risk driver who had your driver’s license confiscated many times, you will be asked to get SR22 Insurance Indiana before your license is reinstated. Such situation comes after you have committed many moving violations within a short period of time. Likewise, you will be required to get one if you had been convicted of DUI.
If you live in Indiana, and were asked to get SR22 insurance, you are required to submit your SR22 insurance to your current car insurer. Once your insurance company has received proof that you have Indiana SR22 insurance, it will send a copy of the form to the state local DMV. Afterwards, you will be allowed to regain your driving privileges.
High Cost of being High Risk Driver
Submission of Indiana SR22 form requires a fee. While it might not be that significant, the true cost will be coming from your insurance premiums. Since you are now labeled as a high risk driver, your premiums will have to be reevaluated and increased. In order to minimize the amount to be paid, it is advisable to show around for SR22 insurance to obtain the best possible price.
Shopping around for SR22 insurance is similar to shopping for regular insurance. You have to perform an online search and apply for SR22 quotes. This form will be added to your regular car insurance. It must be noted that not all insurers will want to insure an individual who is required to get SR22 insurance.
You are required to maintain Indiana SR22 insurance for three years. It is a must that you maintain such insurance during this three year period. Should you decide not to maintain SR22, your car insurer will automatically inform your DMV that you did so.
When it comes to Insurance car insurance laws, they are somewhat unique. Indiana has mandatory minimum liability coverage amounts that drivers must possess. However, unlike other US states, Indiana requires new car policies to have uninsured motorist coverage. With this in effect, auto insurance laws of this state have actually become stricter than the laws of other states.
Cars of all types should have insurance. Any vehicle that is required to possess a license plate must be insured according to Indiana law.
You must present your insurance to police officers. Likewise, it is a must that you have your card with you if you go to court for traffic ticket or other violation.
The minimum liability limits that are mandatory in Indiana are:
$25,000 for any injury, or even death of an individual in any accident$50,000 for any injury, or even death of multiple individuals in any accident$10,000 for any property damage
New insurance policies must include uninsured motorist coverage. The Department of Insurance of the state requires new car insurance policies to include uninsured and underinsured coverage unless the policyholder rejects such coverage in writing.
You can get arrested for Indiana DUI in one of two ways; first, if your manner of driving indicates that you are under the influence of alcohol, and second, if you take the blood alcohol content or BAC test and the result shows.08 percent or even higher.
If you got pulled over by an officer for suspicion of Indiana DUI, you will have to submit yourself to a BAC test. You may refuse such test; however, doing so will be used against you in the proper court. Likewise, if you do not subject yourself to the test, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended.
Penalties for First Time DUI Offenders in Indiana:
Prison time of maximum of a yearMisdemeanor chargeFines that runs between $300 and $5,000Possibility of probationary licensePossibility of Ignition interlock device
Indiana DUI Laws are unique since it permits first time offenders to have charges deferred in order for them to complete alcohol treatment and evaluation programs. If you have successfully completed the program, charges will most likely be dropped. However, such option can only be availed once.
If you face conviction of multiple DUI within five years or less, you certainly face strict penalties. In the state of Indiana, first offense is a misdemeanor. You go and attend programs at the state Department of Correction for Indiana first-offenders.
If you have committed DUI a number of times, apart from potential prison time and corresponding fees that you will have to pay for your arrest, you likewise face suspension of your license. License suspension periods are 180 days for first offenders, 1 year for second, and a maximum of 10 years for third time offenders.
When you got convicted of an Indiana DUI offense, it will be difficult to obtain insurance coverage. If your current insurer does not cancel your policy, it will surely increase your premiums. No matter what, it is a must that you get Indiana auto insurance before you can have your driver’s license back.
Get affordable dui insurance now.